Scales of the BBHI™ 2

©2004 by John Mark Disorbio EdD and Daniel Bruns, PsyD

BBHI™ 2 ©2002 by Pearson Assessments

All Rights Reserved.

Last update 4/12/2004

Scales of the BBHI 2

Defensiveness (DEF)

The Defensiveness scale assesses the tendency of a patient to bias information in either a positive or negative light. This may be a conscious or unconscious tendency.

Somatic Complaints (SOM)

This scale assesses a tendency towards diffuse physical complaints, which are often associated with stress and somatoform disorders.

Pain Complaints (PAIN)

The 0-10 pain scale is commonly used, but the BHI 2's version of this is the first one to be nationally validated. This scale assesses pain in ten areas of the body.

Functional Complaints (FNC) This scale assesses limitations in the ability to function, in the form of self-perceptions of disability and handicap.

Depression (DEP)

Assesses characteristics of depression including feelings of loss or grief around health problems, and perceived helplessness.

Anxiety (ANX)

Measures a tendency to worry, especially about physical symptoms.

You are free to copy this document for educational use or for your personal informational use provided:

1) it not edited or modified in any way;

2) no fee or compensation is charged for these copies and

3) all copyright notices remain attached

 Please read Disclaimer